Playing the piano in the Olympics

I was born in an Olympic year – I won’t tell you which one – and my mother did, very briefly, consider naming me Olympia. So London 2012 has a personal resonance for me.

It has a musical resonance, too. Today the new Olympic Mascots film is released, with a screenplay by Michael Morpurgo narrated by Stephen Fry, and a sparkling soundtrack by Thomas Hewitt Jones, performed by the British Film Orchestra and Voces8. Oh – and I’m the pianist!

That’s the nearest I’ll get to participating in the Olympics, but it has been really exciting to watch the Olympic Park take shape while I’m commuting to London via Stratford.

Catch the film at Odeon cinemas from today until December 23rd, screening before selected family films – or below!

This entry was posted in Composers, Music, Pianists and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

